top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMcLean Casey

My thoughts on Numerology



*Disclaimer* I DO NOT UNDER ANY CIRCUMSTANCES BELIEVE OR PRESCRIBE TO ALLOWING THE STARS TO DICTATE MY LIFE, I SIMPLY FIND THIS TOPIC INTERESTING*

For those of you that don’t know, numerology is the study of the numbers in your life, which allows you to learn how you see the world as well as yourself. According, to the Law of Attraction.com, “These numbers can then be used to help us to better understand the world and ourselves as individuals where you can discover insights about your purpose and personality traits by working out things like your life path number, expression number and heart’s desire number among many others.”

The reason I wanted to right about this topic is because I saw a post one of the Gemini zodiac pages I follow on Instagram had an ad saying that they could tell you the meaning of your name and date of birth means cosmically. I obviously don’t believe that zodiac signs and horoscopes can really predict your future, but I will say I was intrigued by this statement. Not knowing what numerology was or how it was associated with astrology, I clicked on the link. It led me to a long video talking about my alleged personality traits. I will say it was pretty spot on but I will reiterate that it was extremely vague. For example, the website said that, “The 3 Heart's Desire Number indicates you have a tendency to be creative and playful, generally upbeat, friendly, happy, and outgoing. You are drawn more to the arts and crave for a creative outlet where you can be free to express yourself and showcase your imaginative mind.” I am not going to say this isn’t true for me but it could be true for anyone. The way “numerologists” calculate these numbers are extremely arbitrary. I honestly can’t even explain to you how the psychics calculate these numbers than form seemingly random meanings behind them.


One of the TikTok creators that I follow, @goddessgiving, says that numerology is a roadmap to your soul's purpose and desire based on a numeric system from your birth. She also says, "numerology is the study of numbers, it tells a story. when you were born. your birth date is a numeric representation of the day you entered this world. That date holds meaning, it holds value, it holds weight. It says who you are on a numeric level. It talks about your strengths and your weakness, it talks about your life's purpose. when you are out of alignment and when you are in alignment. It is what makes you unique. it is a decoding of who you are based on this numeric vibration and representation."

If I’m being honest, I still don’t really understand this practice or the fascination with astrology. The only reason I know what my star chart looks like in the zodiac realm is because many people I go to school with make all of their decisions about who they are going to hang out with, date, and dislike based on their astrological compatibility. If you ask me its arbitrary but also extreme that someone would base their relationships on vague statements and stereotypes that could fit anyone. Just hang out with people you like, don’t try to fit your life into to completely non-sense charts that someone made up.

That being said, I do think numerology is interesting and it could hold some weight if I had a legit reader reader my numerology chart. Honestly I think more people should try it out just for fun to see what your birth date means in the grand scheme of your life.


If anyone knows a good reader, let me know! ;)

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Netflix and the Latinx Narrative

Close your eyes, when you think about a young Latinx man, is the first thing that enters your mind a drug dealing cholo? Well if that’s the case, it’s because your brain has created a product of the m

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page